Quinoa for Breakfast

October 18, 2010 at 11:56 pm 1 comment

For those of you who haven’t tried or even heard of quinoa, please read on. I’ve actually been eating quinoa for a few years but it wasn’t till recently that I realized how versatile this little grain can be. Please check out www.whfoods.com for more information on quinoa and it’s health benefits.

One thing I love to eat for breakfast is cold cereal. After I started my blood type diet, I switched to a wheat and gluten free cereal which I enjoyed very much. But, then my nutritionist recommended that I try eating quinoa instead. She told me all the health benefits of quinoa and why it was much more beneficial to my blood type than cereal. But, then I thought, how is this going to be as good as the cereal that I love to eat? My nutritionist gave me the following simple recipe and I’ve been hooked ever since:

Quinoa cereal

Ingredients: 3/4 cup cooked quinoa (follow package instructions), dry oats, chopped walnuts or sunflower seeds, raisins (or other dried fruit), rice or almond milk

Directions: Top quinoa with nuts and fruit and fill bowl with milk. Can be served cold or heated in the microwave for a warm, filling breakfast.

Entry filed under: foods, Recipes. Tags: , .

Food Logging Eating Outside My Zone

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Slamdunk  |  October 19, 2010 at 10:45 am

    I was not familiar with quinoa–thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

